What this site publishes about your centre
and what claiming the listing does, in plain English.
mriscancost.com publishes a page for imaging centres listed in the CMS NPPES registry with an imaging taxonomy and enough of a record to describe. The page exists whether or not anyone at the centre ever visits it, because NPPES is a public record released under FOIA and this site is a directory of it alongside what a scan costs.
We did not ask centres for the data and we did not buy it. Every fact on a listing comes from the NPPES registry, with the source and snapshot date on the page, and the prices beside it come from hospital price-transparency files and Medicare rates with their own sources shown. Nothing on a listing is a review, a ranking or a recommendation, no centre can buy a position on this site, and nothing here is endorsed by CMS.
One thing we are careful about, because it matters in healthcare: an NPI is a billing identifier. It is not a licence, not an accreditation and not a credential, and neither a listing nor a claim implies any of those. The pages say so.
What claiming gives you
Claiming is free, and it is the only way anything you write reaches your page. Everything you add appears in its own panel, dated and labelled as supplied by the centre, below the registry facts and never mixed into them.
- About the centre
- Up to 600 characters in the centre's own words. Shown in its own panel, labelled as supplied by the centre.
- Scanners and modalities
- 1.5T, 3T, open MRI, CT, ultrasound, mammography and so on, as the centre actually runs them. The NPPES taxonomy above is unchanged.
- Self-pay price page
- The centre's own published cash-price page, on its own domain. We link it rather than retyping figures.
- Website
- NPPES carries no website, so this is the only one the page shows.
- Scheduling phone
- Shown beside the NPPES phone, which stays on the page.
- Scheduling hours
- Including weekends and evenings, which is what self-pay patients ask about.
- Takes self-pay patients
- Yes, no, or not stated. A fact about how the centre works, not a price.
- Walk-ins accepted
- Yes, no, or not stated. Dated on the page and expires after 90 days.
Free text is checked before it is published: no ranking or endorsement claims (“best”, “leading”, “award-winning”), nothing implying CMS or accreditation endorsement, no price figures in free text, no links in free text, and nothing untrue or misleading. A first edit is read by a person before it goes into a build.
Why there is no cash-price box
Self-pay prices are exactly what patients come here for, so it is tempting to let you type one in. We do not, because your figure would sit beside hospital price-transparency data and Medicare rates that carry sources and dates, with none of its own, and it would go stale the first time you changed it. Link your published self-pay page instead: we show the link, you keep the number current, and the provenance stays honest.
What claiming never changes
The NPPES record: legal name, NPI, taxonomy and provider type, enumeration and last-update dates, parent organisation, address and ZIP, metro and state, the registry phone and the snapshot date. Only NPPES can change those. Update them at source and this site follows at the next monthly refresh. Claiming also does not move your centre in any list, and there is no position here to buy.
How we check it is really you
A person does. NPPES publishes a practice phone but no email address and no website, so there is nowhere this site could send an automatic verification link. Email [email protected] from an address at the organisation, quoting the NPI from your listing. We check it against the NPPES record, and may ring the registry number, before sending a one-time link that opens the editor.
We keep the verified address while the claim is active, to sign you in and to send notices about the listing, and for 90 days after you release it. We never publish centre email addresses on this site.
The badge, and what it is not
A claimed listing shows “Details confirmed by this centre”. That means someone at the centre keeps the centre-supplied parts current. It is not a verification of accreditation, of the radiologists reading your studies, or of imaging quality, and it is not an endorsement by this site or by CMS.
The full agreement is in the listing terms. Corrections and removals are free and do not need a claim.